How to Keep Up with College Friends

As I mentioned in my 5 Least Favorite Things About Moving Back Home post one of the worst things about the end of college and moving away is that you are leaving your friends! The old squad is spread all across the state, the country, and in some cases the world so how do you keep up with them.

How do you keep the friendships going? Especially with that crazy distance and everyone trying to live their own lives? 

Here are a few tips!

Group Messages

rodion-kutsaev-184298.jpg
Your phone is probably already in your hand so why not start a group?

Group messages are interesting and really deserve their own post because of how strongly I feel about them so look out for that soon. With regard to holding the friend group together I think they are a pretty good preliminary measure. Whenever you have something that you think that the whole group would want to see you can throw it in there and wait for responses.

However one of the problems with this is that some groups (most of the ones I find myself in) do not like to respond to group messages. I also don’t really like it but people tell me this works so if your friends like group messages then try it out if not I’ve got some more tips coming!

Don’t just follow their social media and assume you are up to date. I promise you are missing stuff that matters!

Meet-Ups

20170614_152121
Guy’s Trip to Europe (Taken in Amsterdam)

Regardless of how much you talk online or how many messages you send you have to figure out how to actually see these friends.

It really makes all the difference!

I was actually at Chapel Hill right before Halloween and it was awesome to see some of the guys again. It might be awkward just making plans out of thin air, but hey it’s been working for me.

Some of the boys and I took a trip right after we graduated and did a month in Europe jumping from country to country.

We also have a guy’s trip in the works as soon as we save up some money so I’ll keep y’all posted! (I’m thinking more local this time because international ain’t in the budget right now.)

Not ALL Your Friendships Will Last

pexels-photo-237189 2
Everybody isn’t forever!

This is the part that some people including myself find difficult to handle. Some friends are only situational and if you change the situation you lose the friendship. Even while I’m writing this I’m thinking, “Ugh, maybe I’m wrong I don’t want to tell them that!”

It is sad to say but some of the folks you used to kick it with are gonna fall off cause some people are not meant to stay with you forever.

But the other side of that is that some of them will be right there for the rest of your life, your “Ride or Die” friends! One of them is worth a thousand of those fake friends!

Don’t Sweat It

Talk like you are still right across the hall from each other. Every text doesn’t have to be life altering just saying something could make all the difference.

Good luck everybody!

How do you keep in touch with friends? Which of these things do you do and what should I add to my list? Tell me about your experience in the comments below!

4 comments

  1. Good advice – when I start a story or conversation with a friend, I hate when the only response is “Oh yea I saw that on your IG/FB” ok well yeah but I wanted to talk to you about it. Not just assume that people see what’s going on with me on social media as if that’s enough.

    Like

    • Haha exactly!!! I feel the same way. I think a lot of people forget that just knowing what happened isn’t really a substitute for having the conversation! Thanks for the comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

